Generous acts of benefaction from the Sir James Garrick KC bequest and the Thomas Charles Beirne pledge laid the foundations for the establishment of the School in 1936.

Since this time, the School has produced many outstanding graduates who have contributed significantly to the legal profession and to the community in Australia and overseas.

TC Beirne School of Law Endowment Fund

There are many gifted young people who have the ability to study law but who are precluded from doing so because of their financial circumstances. Students face many financial pressures, including the payment of fees, buying books and materials and general living expenses. When coming to the School from interstate or overseas, the challenges are even greater. Recent and ongoing fee increases, a consequence of Commonwealth higher education reform, have done little to alleviate the problem.

In response to the economic challenges faced by many law students, the School has established the TC Beirne School of Law Scholarship Endowment Fund which will assist students with recognised potential, but who face financial hardship, by providing a number of scholarships annually.

As a donor, you will receive acknowledgements, including:

  • a certificate of appreciation
  • recognition on the School's website
  • recognition in the School's newsletter.

You will also have the opportunity to:

  • attend a variety of exciting events held by the School including the annual McPherson Lecture Series, the Research Seminar Series and public lectures presented by internationally recognised law academics
  • receive regular news of the School's activities and achievements.

Supporters who donate $10,000 or more will be recognised on the School's Donor Honour Board.

You can also create your own scholarship that allows you to distinguish who the scholarship benefits and the criteria involved. There are certain requirements for the creation of a scholarship. To discuss your options please contact a member of our Advancement team below.

Ms Anthea Barry
Assistant Director, Advancement
BEL Faculty
Mobile: +61 4 0504 3751
Phone: +61 7 3346 0668

Kamyra Laurenson
Advancement Manager
BEL Faculty
Mobile: +61 4 0175 2599
Phone: +61 7 3365 8858

Rachel Tyquin
Alumni and Advancement Officer
TC Beirne School of Law
Mobile: +61 4 3926 7151


The primary benefit of donating is knowing that you have made a difference in the education and life of a student. 

Together with the Faculty of Business, Economics and Law we acknowledge the generosity of donors through a range of communications and events. 

Supporters who donate over $1000 in a year will become part of the Dean's Society and will receive special communications and unique opportunities to engage with the UQ community. Learn more.

Donate online

Contribute to the TC Beirne School of Law Endowment fund through UQ Giving