

TC BEIRNE SCHOOL OF LAW THE INAUGURAL DAVID F. JACKSON DINNER

Monday 19 November 2012

Proudly sponsored by the College of Law



TC Beirne School of Law



Sponsors

6:30pm	Drinks served in the Freda Bage Common Room
7:00pm	Guests move into the Harriet Marks dining hall
7:10pm	Welcome by Professor Gerard Carney
7:15pm	Entrée is served
7:30pm	Dr Peter Billings introduces the teams:
	Oxford International Intellectual Property Mooting Team Jessup International Law Mooting Team International Maritime Law Arbitration Mooting Team
	ALSA Teams: Australian Red Cross International Humanitarian Law Moot King & Wood Mallesons Championship Moot Negotiation Competition
8:00pm	Main course is served
8:30pm	Dr Peter Billings introduces the teams:
	Shine Lawyers Torts Mooting Team LCA National Family Law Mooting Team Gadens Intervarsity Women's Mooting Team Administrative Appeals Tribunal Mooting Team Sir Harry Gibbs Constitutional Law Mooting Team Michael Kirby Contract Law Mooting Team
9:00pm	Dessert and coffee are served
9:30pm	Professor Gerard Carney introduces Mr David F. Jackson AM QC
9:35pm	After dinner address by Mr David Jackson AM QC
9:55pm	Vote of thanks
9:58pm	Professor Gerard Carney announces the winners of the student prize draws:
	The Dean's Prize – presented by Professor Carney The College of Law Prize – presented by Ms Catherine Kenny
10:00pm	Conclusion of formalities
10:30pm	Function concludes

Thank you to our sponsors

Sponsors of the TC Beirne School of Law Mooting Program



Sponsors of the Inaugural David F. Jackson Dinner

Professor Gerard Carney, Dean of Law



THE TC BEIRNE SCHOOL OF LAW MOOTING PROGRAM 2012 Teams

Oxford International Intellectual Property Mooting Competition

Team:	Miss Camille Boileau Mr Ben Grant
	Miss Maritsa Samios
Coach:	Dr Emily Hudson

Jessup International Law Mooting Competition

2012 Winners, Australian Competition Finals Best Advocate, Australian Finals – Mr Jules Moxon

Team:	Mr Thomas Galloway Miss Annabel Baker Miss Whitny Kapa Miss Courtney Coyne Mr Jules Moxon	
Coaches:	Associate Professor Anthony Cassimatis Miss Catherine Drummond	

International Maritime Law Arbitration Moot

2012 Winners

Best Overall Performance Best Written Memoranda Best Memoranda for the Respondent Highest Ranked Team, General Rounds

Team:	Miss Katherine Stodulka Mr Joshua Underwood Mr Mitchell Beebe Miss Bianca Kabel
Coach:	Dr Sarah Derrington

Sponsor: Norton Rose

Sarah Derringto Irton Rose

Australian Law Students' Association (ALSA) 2012 Teams

Australian Red Cross International Humanitarian Law Moot (ALSA)

2012 Grand Finalists

- Team:
 Miss Catherine Drummond

 Mr Ben Taylor
 Mr
- Coach: Associate Professor Jonathan Crowe

Client Interviewing (ALSA)

Team: Miss Joanne Belford Miss Elizabeth Edwards

Negotiation Competition (ALSA)

Mr Hugo Clark-Ryan Mr Byron Hewson

King and Wood Mallesons Championship Moot (ALSA)

Team: Miss Camille Boileau Miss Madeleine Copley

Shine Lawyers Torts Moot

2012 Winners

Team:

Best Mooter, Grand Final – Miss Amy Campbell Best Mooter, Preliminary Rounds – Miss Amy Campbell

Team:Miss Amy Campbell
Miss Marissa Chesher
Mr Samuel Leigh
Miss Mikhara RamsingCoach:Professor John DevereuxSponsor:Cooper Grace Ward Lawyers

LCA NATIONAL FAMILY LAW MOOT COMPETITION

Team:Mr William Isdale
Miss Alexandra Bose
Mr San-Joe Tan
Miss Edith GravesonCoaches:Associate Professor David Morrison
Ms Helen Maguire
Mr Edmund Robinson

GADENS INTERVARSITY WOMEN'S MOOTING COMPETITION

Best Speaker, Preliminary Rounds - Miss Venetia Brown

- Team:Miss Bronwen Peberdy
Miss Venetia Brown
Miss Sky Kim
- Coaches: Dr Francesca Bartlett Ms Karen Fairweather

Administrative Appeals Tribunal Mooting Competition

2012 Winners

Best Speaker, Finals – Mr Aanand Jayachandran

Teams:Mr Aanand Jayachandran
Mr Heath Manning

Miss Portia Tyle Mr Jack Siebert Miss Maja Cvjetanovich Miss Natalie Morris

Miss Emily Chalk Mr Matthew Daniell Mr James Semit

Coach:

Dr Peter Billings

SIR HARRY GIBBS CONSTITUTIONAL LAW MOOT COMPETITION

Team:	Mr Chris Mellish Miss Ashley Cacciola
	Mr Joshua Sproule
Coach:	Associate Professor Jonathan Crowe

MICHAEL KIRBY CONTRACT LAW MOOT COMPETITION

Team:	Miss Sophie Dixon Mr Charles Tay Miss Kelly Staunton Mr Daniel Maggacis
Coach:	Professor Nick Gaskell

THE UNIVERSITY OF QUEENSLAND LAW SOCIETY (UQLS)

Competition Convenors 2012

Mr Ben C O'Sullivan Miss Alexandra Bose Mr Aanand Jayachandran Mr Cameron Griffiths

Sponsorship 2012

Miss Chrysa Samios



TC Beirne School of Law

Level 3, Forgan Smith Building The University of Queensland Brisbane Qld 4072 Phone 07 3365 2206 Fax 07 3365 1454 law.uq.edu.au