Law School Inaugural 3MT Competition

13 May 2015

This year, for the first time, the TC Beirne School of Law will be holding an internal Law School three minute thesis competition ahead of the BEL Faculty and UQ finals.

There will be prizes for the winner ($200 Co-op Voucher) and runner up ($100 Co-op Voucher) of the Law School competition, as well as a people’s choice award (Echo Smartpen 8 GB provided by Co-op). The winners of the Law School competition will go on to compete in the BEL Faculty final on Friday 24 July.

Associate Professor Jonanthan Crowe, Director of Research Higher Degree Programs, encourages all to consider taking part.

"It is an excellent way to develop the ability to summarise your thesis topic in an informal and engaging manner. This skill is important in career networking (as well as being useful at parties). It is also a chance for others in the Law School to learn about your research.” said Associate Professor Crowe.

The Law School competition will take place at 2:00pm on Friday 19 June in the Common Room in Forgan Smith.

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) is an academic competition developed by The University of Queensland (UQ), Australia for research students. Further information about the three minute thesis competition, including the rules and judging criteria, can be found at

To participate contact Claire Lam by Friday 29 May at