Researcher biography

Thea Voogt is a Senior Lecturer at the TC Beirne School of Law, specialising in taxation law, corporate governance law and corporations law. Thea is a chartered accountant, holds a Doctorate in Financial Management and Master of International Commercial Law (UQ).

Thea is an award-winning law teacher. She is the 2017 recipient of the prestigious UQ Business, Economics & Law Faculty Teaching Award for her innovative, student-centred, technology-driven collaborative approach to teaching the law to commerce students. She received the 2016 'Inspired me to learn' Award for Teaching Excellence in an undergraduate compulsory course at the TC Beirne School. She was also awarded the 2015 Award for Teaching Excellence in an undergraduate compulsory course at the TC Beirne School of Law.

Her research is focuses on three areas:

  • Small firm and small family firm business structures, with a particular focus on family farming, regional businesses and discretionary trusts.
  • The impact of Income Tax Law on small businesses and agriculture.
  • Corporate governance theory and the duties, roles, responsibilities and skills of directors in listed companies.

Thea is the Research Program Leader for Governance, Science, Technology and the Law at the Australian Institute for Business and Economics: She is also a Fellow of the Australian Centre for Private Law.

Prior to joining the University of Queensland, Thea was Professor in Accounting and the Chief Executive Officer (Principal Officer) of the superannuation funds of the University of Johannesburg, where she also managed large tenders for that institution. Over her career in South Africa, she was closely involved with the South African Institute of Chartered Accountants as researcher, presenter, guest speaker, umpire and question setter for the national qualifying exam for chartered accountants. Thea held a ministerial appointment to the Board of the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA), and served on the board of the Southern African Accounting History Centre.