National honours shine a spotlight on Law community

17 June 2020

This is an image of three Order of Australia awardsA Supreme Court of Queensland judge was among five University of Queensland Law School alumni recognised in the 2020 Queen’s Birthday Honours.

The Honourable Justice Peter Applegarth AM, Judge of the Supreme Court of Queensland, was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia for his significant service to the law, the judiciary and social justice. 

The annual list celebrates Australia’s finest philanthropists, leaders, activists, researchers and visionaries and their contributions to Australia.

Faculty of Business, Economics and Law (BEL) Executive Dean Professor Andrew Griffiths congratulated all BEL awardees. 

“During this time of uncertainty and upheaval, these awards remind us that many members of our BEL community are always working to support, uplift and create change for those in need,” Professor Griffiths said.

“I am proud to represent this group of extraordinary leaders and advocates for innovation, justice and education.

“Thank you for all you do.”

2020 Queen’s Birthday Honours list | Law School community

Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia

The Honourable Justice Peter Applegarth AM | Bachelor of Laws (Honours) ’81, Bachelor of Arts ’79

For significant service to the law, and to the judiciary, and to social justice.

The Hon Justice Applegarth AM was appointed a judge of the Supreme Court of Queensland in 2008. He is a council member of the Australasian Institute of Judicial Administration, a fellow of the Australian Academy of Law, a part-time lecturer at UQ Law School, Patron of the UQ Pro Bono Centre and member of the Faculty Advisory Board at Griffith Law School.

Ms Elizabeth Jameson AM | Bachelor of Laws (Honours) ’88, Bachelor of Arts ’85

For significant service to business, and to the community.

Ms Jameson AM is the managing director of Board Matters Pty Ltd, a professional governance consultancy. She holds a number of board directorships including Queensland Police Service, and she is a board member of Brisbane Girls Grammar School. Ms Jameson AM is also the director, vice-president and deputy chair of RACQ, chair of the Queensland Theatre Company and director of the Pinnacle Foundation.

Mr Kenneth MacPherson AM | Bachelor of Laws ’66

For significant service to public administration, particularly through executive legal roles.

Mr MacPherson AM formerly held many roles in public administration, including Acting Ombudsman for South Australia and Auditor-General of the South Australian Auditor-General’s Department. He was special counsel for the Australian Attorney-General’s Department in 2007. He is also the former chairman and board member of the South Australian Baptist Homes for the Aged.

Mr David Muir AM | Bachelor of Laws ’78, Bachelor of Economics ’76

For significant service to the community through welfare, social justice and charitable organisations.

Mr Muir AM is the founding director of Foodbank Queensland, chair of The Clem Jones Group and chair of Real Republic Australia. He also founded Amnesty International Queensland, was the founding director of Crime Stoppers Queensland and assisted with the foundation of Foodbank Australia. He was a partner at HWL Ebsworth Lawyers for ten years.

Mr David Slater AM | Bachelor of Laws ’73, Bachelor of Commerce ’71, Bachelor of Arts ’69

For significant service to the community through social welfare and arts organisations.

Mr Slater AM is patron and supporter of the Queensland Youth Orchestra, supporter of the Queensland Art Gallery/Gallery of Modern Art Foundation and chairperson of Eyeline Magazine. He is also chairperson of the finance and development committee, St Ignatius Roman Catholic Parish in Brisbane, among other roles, and has worked in stockbroking and securities for almost 40 years.

Read more about the 2020 Queen’s Birthday honourees from the BEL Faculty and UQ | See the full list of 2020 Queen’s Birthday Honours.

Contact: BEL Communications,