The International Maritime Law Arbitration Moot (IMLAM) involves a dispute relating to commercial maritime law and the controversy is determined before an arbitral tribunal. Students need not have previously studied maritime law (though it is an advantage) and in fact several past winning teams have had no prior knowledge of maritime law before undertaking the moot. The moot is exceptionally well supported by the maritime industry and maritime law firms. An enjoyable social program accompanies the competition to enable students to forge contacts with students from other law schools and meet with senior members of the profession and the maritime industry.

The IMLAM Competition will not be held in 2021.

Please note that trials and interviews will be conducted by Zoom.

Note: Students may apply to more than one moot without prejudice to their applications. For those students applying for more than one international moot, please email your preferences to for consideration.

Students interested in applying should upload the following documents:

  • Curriculum Vitae (no more than two pages)
  • An expression of interest explaining their motivation for applying (one page)
  • Academic transcript

Airfare and accommodation for the competition are funded in full by the Law School.

Students participating in IMLAM will be automatically eligible for 2# of course credit.

The IMLAM Competition will not be held in 2021.

Further discussions are currently being held regarding the Competition’s future status and updates will be posted on this site in due course.


Please contact us If you have any questions.

Congratulations to our 2019 Maritime winners

UQ was victorious in the International Maritime Law Arbitration Moot for the second year in a row. Read more about the 2019 champion team.